If you’d like to try Things before you buy it, you can install a trial on your Mac.

Mac

To try Things on your Mac, download the app via the blue button below. To use it, your Mac must run at least macOS 10.13.

Download the Trial

We recommend that you move the app from your /Downloads folder to the /Applications folder (macOS might cause issues otherwise).

  • You can use the trial for 15 days from the day you launch it for the first time.
  • There are no limitations – all feature are available to you.
  • When you’re ready to buy Things, a link in the trial version will take you to the App Store. After the purchase, the full version will pick up the to-dos you’ve already entered.
  • If you don’t want to continue using Things, you can just delete the app. There are no auto-renewals or hidden costs.
iPad & iPhone

At this time, it’s not possible for us to offer you trials for iPad or iPhone. This option is only available to apps that have in-app purchases (IAPs) or are subscription-based. Things, however, is a one-time up-front purchase at the time of download.

While the design of the apps is tailored to each device, their feature sets are nearly identical. If you have the chance to try the Mac app, you’ll get a good impression of what the mobile apps can do.

The most notable differences between the Mac and mobile apps are:

  • The iPhone app does not support keyboard shortcuts.
  • The Mac’s Quick Entry (with Autofill) feature relies on AppleScript, which Apple has not made available on mobile devices. But there are other ways you can send to-dos to Things on your iPhone and iPad.
  • Siri integration on iPhone and iPad is deeper than on the Mac, where Apple hasn’t opened it up to work with 3rd party apps yet.
  • The mobile apps offer great gesture support to access useful features.

FAQ

The trial says it’s expired but I’ve never used it.
You might have installed and launched the trial in the past. But not to worry, just reach out to our support team and ask for a trial extension.
Can I test sync with the trial?
Sure! There are no limitations during the trial period.
What happens to my data when the trial expires and goes into “Read-only mode”?
Whatever you entered before the trial expired is safely stored on your Mac. That data will get picked up when you extend the trial or purchase the full version. Anything that you added or changed after the trial has expired (Read-only mode) will not be saved and sync will be disabled.
What if I buy the mobile apps to try them. Can I give them back if I dislike them?
This is up to Apple, who handle all transactions on the App Store. You have to ask Apple for a refund. Learn more here.
I bought the app, but it says my trial has expired.
Please check out this page to resolve the problem.